Monday, May 16, 2005

Kennedy Awards Vs. Bush Awards
Which makes more sense....

The John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Awards
for recognition of acts of political courage were
awarded Monday. The recipients were:

Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin, (second from left) for:
showing "courageous leadership" by raising taxes and
cutting the city's payroll when she took office facing an $82 million budget deficit.
Former Texas State Sen. Bill Ratliff, (third from left) for:
being the only Republican lawmaker who publicly
objected to his party's 2003 redistricting plan.
U.S. Army Sgt. Joseph Darby, Special Profile in Courage Award for:
being the first to report abuse at the Iraqi prison, turning over photos
that showed prisoners chained together in sexual poses,
piled on the floor naked and forced to form a nude human pyramid.

And then there were the Bush's Presidential Medal of Freedom Honorees:
Tenet, slam dunk intelligence?
Franks, followed orders?
Bremer, "we got him"?

And again it is interesting to note the Presidential Medal of Freedom initially honored notable service in war but in 1963 President Kennedy re-introduced it as an honor for distinguished civilian service in peacetime. Just more Bush dismantling.

No comments: